molanis.com/forum - Tools for MetaTrader : The place to ask about the best expert advisor builder, expert advisor downloads, and expert advisor programming

AFTER YOU REGISTER SEND US AN EMAIL TO ACTIVATE YOUR ACCOUNT - Before posting:-1- Please read the user guide -2- Try the examples -3- Search in the forum
It is currently Mon May 13, 2024 4:26 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours

Post subject: Benchmark EA
PostPosted: Wed Feb 13, 2013 9:17 pm 

I was studying this thread: Periods to Use in Different Market Sessions, and noted this response:

admin wrote:
We cannot help you with that. We cannot tell you how to make a profitable ea.

I have been extensively back and forward testing EA's using Molanis Strategy Builder for MT4 - Pro. Although I am an MQL4 coder, I prefer to backtest experiments with Molanis as it allows RAPID testing of new strategies, which can then be hand-coded with bells-and-whistles when testing is complete.

The problem with backtesting (leaving aside the acquisition of a stable MT4 backtest environment, which is a problem that has already been addressed on the Forum) is that what works in backtests is NOT what works in live forward tests, as the above poster points out. Although this is an MT4 Problem, not a Molanis problem, one very helpful thing that Molanis COULD do would be to provide EA samples that ARE at least marginally profitable. With such a benchmark, new coders would have a proven roadmap to success.

The Simple-MA-EA2.mol that is included with MSB-Pro using settings as shipped backtests as follows (USD/JPY M1, using MT4i Spread Controller on 1.6 Pips: 2000/01/02 through 2001/12/27):

Attachment:
File comment: Actual Backtest...
StrategyTester MOLANIS SMA.gif
StrategyTester MOLANIS SMA.gif [ 9.73 KiB | Viewed 3324 times ]