molanis.com/forum - Tools for MetaTrader : The place to ask about the best expert advisor builder, expert advisor downloads, and expert advisor programming

AFTER YOU REGISTER SEND US AN EMAIL TO ACTIVATE YOUR ACCOUNT - Before posting:-1- Please read the user guide -2- Try the examples -3- Search in the forum
It is currently Sun May 12, 2024 11:34 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours

Post subject: too many alerts for same signal
PostPosted: Wed Jul 04, 2012 9:52 pm 

I am a newbie and have some questions:

1. I built a strategy (EA) to send me alerts when certain conditions are met. One of the conditions involves the bid price being above prior bar's high. It trggers fine and I get an e-mail but then it keeps triggering as the bid price fluctuates below/above prior bar's high. How can I set it to trigger the FIRST time the conditions are all met and then go quiet...i.e. no more alerts after the first? in the "BUY" block in the trading diagram, I set "Trade Management" = "Wait until an opposite trade is opened" think that this might work to avoid the proble above but no luck...Any ideas??

2. If I want to create a custom indicator that is the difference between the "main" and "signal" line of the stochastic oscillator indicator, is that possible? I don't have the custom indicator creation product yet and want to make sure that the above is possible.

Thanks very much!

Post subject: Re: too many alerts for same signal
PostPosted: Fri Jul 06, 2012 9:40 am 

1. I don't think "Wait until an opposite trade is opened" is what you want for this. Read the manual before you use it. Try using Completed Bars=True and Max Number of Positions=1 in your START icon.