molanis.com/forum - Tools for MetaTrader : The place to ask about the best expert advisor builder, expert advisor downloads, and expert advisor programming

AFTER YOU REGISTER SEND US AN EMAIL TO ACTIVATE YOUR ACCOUNT - Before posting:-1- Please read the user guide -2- Try the examples -3- Search in the forum
It is currently Mon May 13, 2024 9:15 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours

Post subject: 5 min EA with
PostPosted: Mon Jun 25, 2012 3:39 pm 

Can anyone point me in the right direction of some posts that will help me solve this problem using the Molanis modelling software. I've looked but am none the wiser. I am a complete beginner at using this software.

I am trying to model a trading scenario as follows:

1. At 8am analyse the previous 5 minute movement of a given index or currency pair (say, for example, the FTSE 100) and work out if it was an up or downward movement.

2. If it was down then place a sell trade, if it was up the place a buy.

3. Then every 5 minutes I want to do the same but only place a trade if the movement is in the opposite direction in which case I need to cancel the original trade by trading the same amount, but in the opposite trade.

4. The previous trade cancelled I want to start over, if I had cancelled, as in step three, then I'd trade in the same direction. Then just keep going until 4pm.

Here's a working example:

Day 1 e.g.
07:55 to 08:00 - FTSE moves down
08:00 - place a sell (because the previous 5 minutes was down) trade £1
08:00 - 08:05 FTSE continues downward trend, no trade made (because trend continues in downward direction)
08:05 - 08:10 FTSE moves upward, place a buy trade (because FTSE moved in the opposite direction) for £2 (£1 to cancel original trade and £1 for a trade in the now upward direction)
... continue until 4pm.

Is it possible to model this?

Post subject: Re: 5 min EA with
PostPosted: Sun Jul 01, 2012 10:16 pm 
Site Admin